Know US Better

DIT's History

The Dar es Salaam Institute of Technology (DIT) is the government Institution established in 1997 by Act of parliament."the DIT Act No 6 of 1997" to replace the Dar es Salaam Technical College which had a long history of technical training in Tanzania from 1957.
The Dar es Salaam Technical Institute was established aiming at providing vocational training in the country. The Institute later expanded its scope to offer technical secondary school courses and training for Technical Assistants before it was upgraded in 1962 to become the Dar es Salaam Technical College (DTC), the first formal technical training institution in the country.DTC was aimed to train technicians under the London City and Guilds Training Program.In order to enhance its contribution to the national capacity building in technical manpower, the College in 1964 introduced two-and-a-half-year Ordinary Technician Diploma (OTD).

Currently the institution has three (3) campuses which are; Main Campus in Dar es Salaam,Mwanza Campus in Mwanza Region and Myunga Campus in Songwe Region. The institute offers over twenty nine (29) applied science, engineering and professional training programmes leading to the awards of Basic Technical Certificate,Ordinary Diploma,Bachelor of Engineering,Bachelor of Technology and Master Degree programme.


To become the leading technical education Institution in addressing societal needs.


To provide competence based technical education through training, research, innovation and development of appropriate technology .